No spend update.

I did spend money yesterday on food. Mostly food for the dogs and rabbits (the store had pork picnic roasts for $0.97/lb!), but I did buy about 1/2 lb of grapes for dd. I feel conflicted about that. We were able to get them because they were on “special buy” at less than $1/lb, but I hadn’t planned on getting “extra” food. We were “this close” to buying a $1 toy because we had enough money with us when dd saw the strawberries.

We broke out the calculator and checked. Couldn’t afford the strawberries. By this time, dd (3.5 years old) is putting her mouth on the container. *insert roll-eye smilie here* Think fast, mama. Wait! There’s a red “special buy” sign under the grapes and you can adjust the weight! Negotiations/explanations ensued. Got 2 days worth of grapes in exchange for putting back the strawberries and the $1 pony.

So I will count it as no-spend. I can’t seem to shake the feeling that spending on food is still spending. Even for the bunnies. I’m usually able to get enough veggies for them out of the dumster at this grocery store and the the compost bin at the local health food co-op.

I think I’m going to have to make up rules. Rules post soon!

One Response

  1. I don’t count food in the no-spending category unless it’s something way overpriced and processed/frozen, etc. Strawberries and grapes don’t count, although I probably would have done what you did and traded one fruit for another. Still, you gotta have fruit and veggies in your diet, and you have to take some pleasure in eating, even while keeping it simple.

    I buy top quality food for our birds. I figure it’s an investment towards their long lives and less vet bills in the long run. I just try to make up by not splurging on toys for them and other things.

Leave a comment